

DEBATING FOR DEMOCRACY NATIONAL CONFERENCE

THURSDAY, MARCH 24 – FRIDAY, MARCH 25, 2011



# **PACE UNIVERSITY**

1 Pace Plaza (Corner of Park Row and Spruce Street) (Enter through the Michael Schimmel Center for the Arts entrance on Spruce Street)

# THURSDAY, MARCH 24

### Multipurpose Room

8:30 AM	Continental	Breakfast

9:00 AM Welcome and Orientation

Eugene M. Lang, Founder and Chair, Project Pericles Stephen J. Friedman, President, Pace University Jan R. Liss, Executive Director, Project Pericles

### 9:30 AM Social Action Panel Discussion

Moderated by Jan R. Liss, Executive Director, Project Pericles Jared Duval, Fellow at Demos, Author of "Next Generation Democracy" Rajeev Goyal, Coordinator, PushforPeaceCorps.org Campaign Mandara Meyers, Director, Leadership for Educational Equity, Teach for America Scott Warren, Co-Founder and Executive Director, Generation Citizen

- 10:45 AM Break
- 11:00 AM Student Workshops
- 12:30 PM Lunch
- 1:30 PM Democracy and Technology Panel Discussion Moderated by David E. Van Zandt, President, The New School Gabriella Coleman, Assistant Professor of Media, Culture, and Communication, New York University Elizabeth Eagen, Program Officer, Information and Human Rights and Governance Grants Programs, Open Society Institute Robert Millis, CEO, Hudson Media Ventures
- 3:00 PM Break

### Michael Schimmel Center for the Arts

3:30 PM D4D Legislative Hearings

Legislative Committee:

Nancy Kassebaum Baker, former U.S. Senator (R-KS) Constance Berry Newman, former U.S. Assistant Secretary of State for African Affairs Kurt L. Schmoke, former Mayor of Baltimore, MD Harris L. Wofford, former U.S. Senator (D-PA)

### Letters to an Elected Official:

Allegheny College, "A Letter Concerning the Pennsylvania Alternative Energy Portfolio Standards Act" Carleton College, "A Letter in Support of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act" Hendrix College, "A Letter in Support of the National Popular Vote Interstate Compact" Macalester College, "A Letter Concerning the Mental Health Model Curriculum Creation" Swarthmore College, "A Letter on the Implementation of a National Financial Literacy Program"



# DEBATING FOR DEMOCRACY NATIONAL CONFERENCE THURSDAY, MARCH 24 – FRIDAY, MARCH 25, 2011



# THURSDAY, MARCH 24

#### Multipurpose Room

- 5:30 PM Reception, Dinner, and Keynote Address Keynote Address, Arthur Levine, President, Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation
- 8:00 PM Award Ceremony Presentation of Periclean Service Award - Eugene M. Lang Presentation of Award for Letter to an Elected Official - Harris L. Wofford
- 8:30 PM Adjourn

## FRIDAY, MARCH 25

### Multipurpose Room

- 8:00 AM Continental Breakfast
- 8:30 AM Federal Budget Simulation Game Presented by Richard Guarasci, President, Wagner College
- 9:00 AM Student Workshop: Budget Simulation
- 10:30 AM Break
- 10:45 AM Income Inequality and Democracy Panel Discussion Moderated by Jennifer C. Olmsted, Associate Professor and Chair, Economics, Drew University David Callahan, Co-Founder and Senior Fellow, Demos Jacob S. Hacker, Stanley B. Resor Professor of Political Science, Yale University Robert C. Lieberman, Professor of Political Science and Public Affairs, Columbia University Reihan Salam, Policy Advisor, Economics 21 and Columnist, National Review Online
- 12:15 PM Break
- 12:25 PM Lunchtime Discussion: The Role of Non-Profits in Our Democracy Moderated by David Rippon, Assistant Director, Project Pericles Shena M. Elrington, Staff Attorney, Health Justice Program, New York Lawyers for the Public Interest Jordan Kessler, Associate Director, Membership, Natural Resources Defense Council Danielle Moss Lee, President & CEO, Harlem Educational Activities Fund Ellen O'Connell, Vice President for Administration and Board Relations, International Rescue Committee Michael Wise, Director of Youth Service, New York Cares Sondra Youdelman, Executive Director, Community Voices Heard
- 1:15 PM Conference Wrap-up Jan R. Liss, Executive Director, Project Pericles
- 1:30 PM Student Visits to Non-Profit Organizations

### PROJECT PERICLES® BOARD OF DIRECTORS

#### Chair: Eugene M. Lang

Alison R. Bernstein Cosby Endowed Chair of Humanities, Spelman College Former Vice President, Ford Foundation Alfred H. Bloom Vice Chancellor of New York University Abu Dhabi David A. Caputo President Emeritus, Pace University Janet S. Dickerson Former Vice President, Princeton University Richard Ekman President, Council of Independent Colleges Neil R. Grabois Dean, Milano The New School for Management and Urban Policy Former Vice President, Carnegie Corporation of New York Leo M. Lambert President, Elon University \*ex officio

Arthur E. Levine President, Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation Jan R. Liss\* Executive Director, Project Pericles Michael S. McPherson President, Spencer Foundation Nancy B. Peretsman Executive Vice President and Managing Director, Allen & Co., Inc. Brian C. Rosenberg\* President, Macalester College; Chair, Project Pericles Presidents' Council Mark A. Vander Ploeg Senior Managing Director, Evercore Partners Harris L. Wofford Former Co-Chair, America's Promise; former U.S. Senator

### PROJECT PERICLES® PRESIDENTS' COUNCIL

Chair: Brian C. Rosenberg\*, Macalester College Vice-Chair: Richard Guarasci\*, Wagner College

James H. Mullen Jr.\*, Allegheny College Elaine Tuttle Hansen\*, Bates College Larry D. Shinn, Berea College Trudie Kibbe Reed, Bethune-Cookman University Steven G. Poskanzer, Carleton College Esther L. Barazzone, Chatham University Marvalene Hughes\*, Dillard University Robert Weisbuch\*, Drew University Douglas C. Bennett, Earlham College Leo M. Lambert, Elon University Sanford J. Ungar, Goucher College Marlene Gerber Fried, Hampshire College J. Timothy Cloyd, Hendrix College Robert M. Franklin, Morehouse College New England College, Michele D. Perkins The New School, David E. Van Zandt Occidental College, Jonathan Veitch Pace University, Stephen J. Friedman Pitzer College, Laura Skandera Trombley Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Shirley Ann Jackson Rhodes College, William E. Troutt St. Mary's College of Maryland, Joseph R. Urgo Spelman College, Beverly Daniel Tatum\* Swarthmore College, Rebecca Chopp\* Ursinus College, John E. F. Corson Widener University, James T. Harris III The College of Wooster, Grant H. Cornwell\*

\*Executive Committee

### PROJECT PERICLES® NATIONAL BOARD OF ADVISORS

#### Co-Chairs: Sen. Nancy Kassebaum Baker & Hon. Kurt L. Schmoke

David Baltimore • John Baugh • J. Herman Blake • Roger W. Bowen • Harry C. Boyte Sen. Bill Bradley • Paul Brest • Russell L. Carson • Raymond G. Chambers Jerome A. Chazen • Nadinne Cruz • Gov. Mario M. Cuomo • Richard A. Detweiler Christopher F. Edley, Jr. • Thomas Ehrlich • Jonathan F. Fanton • Nicholas H. Farnham Ellen V. Futter • Curtis B. Gans • Llewellyn P. Haden, Jr. • Samuel L. Hayes III
Antonia Hernandez • Amb. James C. Hormel • Helene L. Kaplan • Gov. Thomas H. Kean Reuben Mark • Elizabeth McCormack • Mary Patterson McPherson • Robert D. Putnam Judith A. Ramaley • David M. Scobey • Ruth J. Simmons • Allen P. Splete

PROJECT PERICLES, 551 FIFTH AVENUE, SUITE 1910, NEW YORK, NY 10176 T: 212.986.4496 F: 212.986.1662 projectpericles@projectpericles.org

Project Pericles thanks Pace University for hosting this conference and appreciates the generous support of the Eugene M. Lang Foundation